Apocraphe Presents The Escapist Handbook

"My brain is the key that sets me free"

 After the brainstorming success of A Paris L'Affaire 2014 ft L'Affaire, and the cult referential witticisms of Mighty Like Guybrush, Apocraphe readies the world for a field guide to escapism with the pre-order campaign for his magnum opus, The Escapist Handbook.


Running a Diggers Factory campaign, each person who pre-orders the vinyl will receive the album in MP3 format immediately, up to 4 weeks before the official release of the album on the 1st June. Additionally, assuming the album goes to press, each copy will be numbered, and a prize draw will be performed afterwards, with the winner getting both 150 euros, and the opportunity of a free feature, or dedicated freestyle, from Apocraphe.


What of the project itself though? It ranges from the drill-like intro of Many Lives (Bury My Dead) produced by two times gold disc French producer I.N.C.H, through the dark steampunk twists of City Of Lost Children, to the melodious jazz of The Song Of Tartarus. Even within the Golden Era vibes of the titular The Escapist Handbook, the culture is simultaneously represented and deconstructed. Drawing heavily on mythology and classical literature as well as modern cultural touchstones, a journey is created, both in the mind of the listener, and the path of the album itself.


International super producer Nat Powers (Snoop Dogg, Run DMC, Spice 1, Professor Green, Lomepal, etc) holds down a quarter of the album, alongside stalwarts such as I.N.C.HDezordre (CMF records), Louis Angeles (Naiad) and Arthur Guyard (Kilotone) with new talent such as Dakota and Thomas Nollet adding to the freshness. Features include but are not limited to Jahnell (a.k.a Johny Pitts, broadcaster and multi-award winning author of Afropean: Notes from Black Europe), UK legends Scor-zay-zee and Sonnyjim (Conway The Machine/Verbal Kent/Iron Wigs and many more), young up-and-coming French-Cameroonian Afro-Trap artiste Dirtsa, and Spanish lyricist Dax Santos. The album also includes an unreleased bonus track originally from 2014, remixed and remastered, the sole track ever made featuring the entire 10 members of the Parisian L’Affaire crew, including multi-platinum artist Lomepal. The album stands as a product of the links and love of the artform shared across all international borders.

You can stream the album here at Diggers Factory where the album is available to pre-order or via the clickable button below at Disco.